Just started playing, i love it but, here's my crituque.

edited November 2006 in Sam & Max
Ok I just started playing the game, taking it slow and really enjoying myself. This game does rock, it really does but I found some small things that dragged it down a bit, but if fixed would really make this game shine (in my oppinion).

I haven't read the other reviews here yet, I will .. So I'm sorry if I mention something someone else allready adressed.

Here goes :

I felt that that the voice acting for Sam and Max are all right, but not as good as the ones from the old game or the cartoon series.

The speech animations for the character are allright, and i know it must take alot of work, but it cold be improved slightly i felt.

Sam's rantings are not allways as funny as ones in the previous game or cartoon

Every scene looks great, and movng around has a great fluid feel to it, the only thing dragging down the visual quality is the close-ups when the characters speak - the angles are sometimes not as visually appealing and it brakes up the continuiuty of the conversation.
If there were more overview shots (as when you approach the character you are going to talk to or just walking by) it would seem more fluid and would make the dialogue sound better too.
As you don't get the same quality acting when it's recorded the way it is for these types of games. Not that it's bad but you can hear that it's pretty static, no real emotion in the voices and when you constantly cut to a close up of the person talking it get more choppy than it is.

I don't like the way the dialogue choices doesn't really say what the character actually speak. e.g when you talk to the first 'soda bopper' and you say that he messed up his painting. The options only say 'you messed up' and 'you messed up again' while Max says something more elaborate.