Sharing my thoughts on ToMI

Hi everyone,

I haven't posted here before, but I've been lurking as I've been playing ToMI over the past week or so. Now I'm done, I thought I'd let Telltale (and the world!) hear my feedback on the series and see if people agreed with me.

Positives

-- The atmosphere is superb, thanks to the excellent artwork, voice-acting, and particularly the soundtrack. I'm a Monkey veteran: I first played SMI at the age of eight, and MI2 a year later, so the Monkey Island world is a place of childhood nostalgia for me. Fundamentally, TMI succeeds because it recaptures, and even improves upon, that world.

-- The game had some great one-liners and some laugh-out-loud moments. As a long-time adventure-gamer, I particularly loved Guybrush teaching LeChuck how to use the command system. Guybrush inhabitating the Voodoo Lady's body was great too.

-- The darker tone worked excellently, particularly in Chapter IV. The spooky atmosphere of Chapter V had a great deal of ambiance.

-- Some entertaining cut-scenes and fun experiments with camera angles. For example, the camera-angle in the court, where Guybrush and Stan are "seen from the balcony" as in TV a courtroom drama.

-- Two great new characters: Winslow and Morgan LeFlay. Winslow's double entendres make me smirk and his voice is a marvel. W.P. Grindstump cracks me up too.

-- Some "Aha!" moments in the puzzles. For example, the chokepoint in Chapter 1 when Guybrush is strapped to LeSinge's chair and has to escape. Overall, I liked the hint interface, which could be developed further, as I hate having to rely on a walkthrough.

For Improvement (here's hoping for another series ;) )

-- My main gripe is there were so few locations. I loved the environments for the art and music. But in each chapter, I felt disappointed as there seemed so little to explore. TMI's game world felt smaller than the worlds in MI2, with its wonderful island-hopping chapter and all its puzzles.