Roberta's One Change to Mandel's KQ1 Remake Text?

edited March 2013 in Kings Quest Game
Anyone know what it was that Roberta changed of Mandel's KQ1 SCI text? Apparently she left all of Mandel's rewrites/additions, except one. I would be interested to know what she decided wasn't right for the KQ1 remake.

Here's Mandel talking about his KQ1 remake experience in a very informative recent interview with Adventure Gamers:
http://www.adventuregamers.com/articles/view/24002
Josh: Well, there was the KQ1 remake, my first task. My role on the title was officially Producer, but I wanted to see if I could give the game a total text facelift along with the art facelift. Since I had just played through the original, I could see so many instances where the text, which was sparse and straightforward, could illuminate what the graphics (even the newer ones) couldn’t. And I wanted to show the company that, although I was hired as a Junior Producer, I could serve a better purpose by being allowed to be creative. That’s something that Producers are often not given the opportunity to do. One of my first questions, upon meeting Roberta, was if she’d allow me to rewrite the text, and she graciously gave her absolute consent (provided, naturally, that she had total freedom to change or delete any of my text). So I rewrote most of the text and dialogue, changed a couple of puzzles to make them fairer – the Rumplestiltskin one being the most obvious. And except for one line, Roberta (Williams) kept the changes, so I was delighted. Plus we had vertical AND horizontal scrolling.

Comments

• edited March 2013
    This is great!! I never knew this. You are the best. I love how you have compiled so much wonderful info. Thanks!