Voice acting in Bone

edited December 2008 in Bone
Is the voice acting in the trailer final? I've heard much worse (see www.audioatrocities.com for some examples), but it's terrible compared to Psychonauts or the more recent LucasArts adventure games; considering that LucasArts is where Telltale's founders got their pedigree, I expected much better. I'm not alone in this opinion, by the way:
http://forums.gaming-age.com/showthread.php?t=55488

Comments

• edited July 2005
    I have to agree. Though I loved most things about the trailer, everything about the voices, from the way they sound, to the way they're engineered, to the way the lines are delivered, sounds unprofessional and just wrong. Very much looking forward to the game, but given that it looks to be such a cinematic experience, I hope I'm not going to have to play it with speech turned off. :-)

I've never been one of those messageborad complainers before, and I feel a little guilty about it, being a developer myself. But I figured better to give the feedback than not. Good luck with the rest of the project!
  • edited July 2005
    I'm just cuious: What was so wrong about it?
    I thought it sounded quite good. I'm no sound expert, I won't get into the engeneering bit, but I can't say I found the voices bad at all...

And comparing Telltale with LucasArts in't exactly fair. LA is a big company with lots of resources, while Telltale are pretty much in the process of getting established. There is bound to be a differance between the two, even if the Telltale staff all are very talented people.
  • edited July 2005
    Are you totally nuts :) ? I found the voice acting great and I enjoyed so much Fone Bone's actor.
    Maybe I am the only supporter here but in my humble opinion they are doing a good job.
    Moreover this is just a short trailer and Fone Bone says only "Hellooo?" Or "Stupid Studip Rat Creatures" or "Shut Up!" not longer sentences.