Should I purchase EP1 if I'm new to the series?

How easy is this game to get in to if I've never touched anything relating to the series before?

Comments

• People keep saying you need to watch the show or read the books, but they're wrong. I watch a youtuber who absolutely knows nothing about the series and still enjoyed the game. Only thing you need to study is the language lol. You'll get a feeling who the characters are once you play it. Just like the wolf among us. Some people didn't read the comics but still enjoyed the game. Also Borderlands tall tales is fun even if you haven't played.

If you're into medieval and graphic violence than it's for you...

• You should read the books/ watch the show if you want to understand whats going on. You can still enjoy the game but it will be impossible to know what there taking about half the time if you dont

• edited December 2014

You'll be completely lost about events and the universe people are talking about most of the time. Guess you could still have fun with it but I guarantee it won't be as enjoyable (by a large margin) for someone who isn't familiar with the setting/characters..

• While enjoyable on it's own.

Having read the 1st 3 books* will give a great perspective.
    Or you can go the short route and watch the series.

Lot's of hidden stuff that's cool if your up on the series.

*Arguably, After book 3. The writer decided to extend the series forever and basically writes huge tombs where nothing moves forwards.
    Not just my opinion
    if you go to Amazon and check the stars
    Book 1 - 4.5 Stars with 4% 1 stars
    Book 2 - 4.5 Stars with 2% 1 Stars
    Book 3 - 4.6 Stars with 2% 1 Stars
    Now it disintegrates, Shame on you George R.R. Martin
    for trying to extend the series forever by writing books where
    the action doesn't move forwards.
    Book 4 - 3.8 Stars with 8% 1 Stars
    Book 5 - 3.9 Stars with 9% 1 Stars