Replaying the originals? (may contain nuts/spoilers)

I'm guessing that there are a lot of people in here who are going to be playing through one or more of the original games before Tales comes out. I'm planning on getting through them all myself (and just finished Secret).

So I was wundrin', if you are replaying them, how do they hold up in 2009? Is there anything new you noticed, and where did you get stuck when you should really know better? ;)

Spoilers will inevitably follow.

Comments

• edited June 2009
    Secret of Monkey Island - playthrough bajillion, probably. But first in about four years.

Spent a long time fiddling with scummvm to get the pixels nice and blocky. I don't need no antialaising! Game looks pretty good, seems to survive my widescreen monitor too.

I wanna be a pirate. The lookout's fire sounds crackly, I thought my sound was busted for a while.

When there's only one candidate, there's only one choice. Apt - I started playing on the day of the European Parliament elections. (Actually, the ballot sheet for that election unfolded like a scroll, so maybe not so apt.)

Stan's used ship yard felt weird with music blaring and no Stan present. I think that would have been much better if it had kicked in when you first met him - good music though. Wonder what they'll do in the special edition.

Finding Carla is oh so much easier when you *know* you've got to follow the shopkeeper. But where the hell was that stump? I didn't find it this time around.

The first place I got stuck was on Melee, where you have to give Otis the gopher repellent - I had remembered that you just had to give him the mints, but gopher repellant? I used it directly on the rat, surely Guybrush could have dropped a hint or two. I ran around that damn island for hours! What's worse is, I was anticipating the grog puzzle and couldn't remember where the mugs came from :(