Linux/SteamOS Port

Hi. My name is Dave, and I'm a programmer here at Telltale. I would like to talk about Linux. First of all, I work on the engine, so I'm not really the person to ask about business or game design.

But, I am a Linux user at home, and have been for many years. I've been itching to write a Linux port for the duration of my time here at Telltale. As a result, I would like to ask the community if there's any interest in a Linux/SteamOS port? And perhaps more importantly... would there be any interest in participating in a closed beta of such a thing? Any hardware or distro will do... I can't promise you it would work on your particular setup, but I would of course want to support as wide of an ecosystem as possible. Since Linux is such a diverse culture, it's desirable for community help in testing. And no, this port would not (negatively) affect the quality of our other platforms.

I hope this is of interest to you. If interested in participating in a beta, please email me at linuxtest@telltalegames.com with details about your OS and hardware. I'll get back to you soon.

Thanks for your attention.

Comments

• edited October 2015

Nice idea, I'll help you.

• edited October 2015

As long as you target the steam-runtime it should run properly on any Linux system :) Btw, it's great to see it coming to Linux, I hope than the same will apply for your other games (at least your future games, even if I would like to see TWD running on the OS too). I will give my support by buying the game after it reaches the platform (and make it count as a linux sale).

• Such great news.

I'm in. I've been running TTG's stuff on wine since The Wolf among Us was out, and it runs well so far, but a native port would be amazing!

• Already emailed you. I'll do my best to help you whatever I can to see any of your games ported to Linux. Haven't bought the game yet, but it's on my list