Feedback on Short Film, Smoke?

Hello there. I admit that this might not be the best place to post this, but I'm an amateur filmmaker and a buddy and I recently made a short film over the summer called, Smoke, and I've been really struggling to get constructive feedback on it. I posted my previous film, Not for Me, on here a year or two back and I got some decent feedback so I'm trying my luck here again.

Lemme know what you think.

Comments

• I've done a decent amount of film making and this is very well done.

It doesnt seem like its going for a super strong narrative but that is alright. Its def best to work on small projects like this as it gets you a good feel for how to actually film a film. You can have one of the best scripts and narrative in the world but if it is filmed awful it really aint gonna cut it. And this is filmed very well, good focus and camera shots and angles and movement that make it feel a lot more stylistic than just amateur camera work. Sound design is also very well done I would say. I think the biggest take away from your video is the lighting as some shots the lighting isnt balanced out so well (specifically the wide shots of him sitting on the side of the road facing us)

But I think its very well done and you should keep it up. You're already showing to be very knowledgeable and seem to know how to actually film a short film and make it feel like a film. You should def try for your next project for a little stronger of a narrative as I feel at the moment that would be the next logical step into advancing into making more complex films. From there I would then start to invest in some better equipment but I would take it slow before you start making big purchases. Work with what you have and gradually move up the scale and I think it will work out well for you, good luck homie

• Thanks for the feedback, Poogs and I'm glad you enjoyed it.