Is this game supposed to be BTTF4?/ The canon debate

2»

Comments

• edited September 2010
    If Doc can make a time traveling hover-train in cowboy times, I'm pretty sure he'd have no problem rebuilding the DeLorean.
  • edited November 2010
    I've seen a lot of talking about what is or isn't canon as it pertains to the BTTF franchise lately (like for instance, is the game canon). The problem is, not everyone uses or defines the term in the same way, and it can get confusing. People can easily end up arguing with people who actually share their opinion, but a difference in how they apply the word causes a miscommunication.

I'm no expert, but I have my own theory on the different usages of the word, so I've boiled it down to what are (IMHO), the three basic definitions of canon (along with my own opinions about the pros and cons of each).

1) The Legal Copyright Definition
    This definition states that the ability to declare something as canon or authentic lies solely with whoever holds the legal copyright. However, this one can be tricky, because contrary to popular belief, it's not always the original creator(s). Sometimes the legal copyright lies with a company rather than an individual. For instance, in a movie, often the studio holds the rights, rather than the writer, director, producer, etc.

George Lucas is one of the rare exceptions to this, as he actually paid money & signed a contract to make sure he retained all copyrights to Star Wars (if he hadn't, Fox would own the copyright). It's not unheard of for the original creator(s) to refuse to do a sequel for some reason (usually because they don't like what the studio has in mind), and for the studio to simply replace them and do the sequel anyway (happened with Superman II and on).