Writing Tips?

edited February 2018 in General Chat

Are the some writers here from the community that can share some writing tips for beginners like me?

Comments

• Well, I'm a beginner writer myself. One thing I've learned is to find what inspires you, for me it's a number of things, but one is listening to music. I find that I write better while listening to a good song, then sitting in a quiet room. My mind wonders off less.

• Always pick a writing topic that interests you. If you're writing something you're not interested in then you'll stop caring quickly.

Always remember that not everything you write has to be perfect or better than the last piece, just make something for fun and try your best the hone your skills along the way.

If you're posting online, always have a pal read through and proofread, just in case.

Let your surroundings inspire you. Your environments, personal history, favorite media and emotional feel can very heavily impact what you're writing.

Carefully study works that you personally feel are really well written and figure out why you love them so much. When I was learning how to write I studied Silent Hill 2 and Bojack Horseman a ton, and it helped me understand and appreciate the writing and allowed me to improve myself.

Just have fun with what you're doing tbh. That's the most important thing really.

• Thank you for these tips

Always pick a writing topic that interests you. If you're writing something you're not interested in then you'll stop caring quickly. Alw

• no prob my dude. i hope you succeed in all your endeavors

Thank you for these tips

• This link might be handy to read through. They're mostly tips about writing fantasy stories, but there are some general ones in there too.

https://livejournal.com/tools/memories.bml?user=limyaael&keyword=Limyaael's%20Fantasy%20Rants&filter=all