Do you believe in Jesus?

1235»

Comments

• Ooh, boy. That's a thought provoking one.

I think I fall into the camp of an agnostic - I'm completely unsure in any religion, let alone any specific one. As a philosophy student, I've had to read a bunch of arguments for God's existence which kind of put me off the idea.

Here's Descartes' Ontological Argument, in my opinion, one of the most flawed pieces of philosophy I've studied. In one fell swoop, he made me feel pretty awkward for those who actually think it's a valid argument. At least in my opinion, it simply isn't. It really did put me off religion when I first read it, but - hey - I'll let you be the judge of it.

(1) Our idea of God is of a perfect being,

(2) it is more perfect to exist than not to exist,

(3) therefore, God must exist.

So you can see why I'm put off the idea of religion a tad, because the logic of that argument is dumbfounding. It's basically saying "God exists because God exists." Which is an argument of which the premises lean on the conclusion, which makes it ... weaker than the arguments I'd make as to why "Mr Nobody" pee'd the bed, when I was a wee scrap of a thing. But I digress.

I do think, contrary to my previous paragraph, that there must be something, and Descartes doesn't put me off that idea. Jesus, and by proxy some religions, either do or don't exist. As someone who spends their days watching TV, writing Fanfiction and playing video games, I think it'd be presumptuous to assume my opinion means any more than the square root of Johnathan Squat. However, there is a bit from a show I really like, the American sitcom It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia which, while intended to be funny, did actually get me thinking about the argument between religion and science. This is an argument I refer to as ...

Science is a liar...

...Sometimes.