I don't get the hate

So I recently joined these forums although I've been playing Telltale games for a few years and I've seen a lot of hate towards this that I don't really understand.

I played Minecraft at least once a week for 2 years before the fanbase of the game went crazy and all the servers went pay to win, admittedly I hate the game now and I can see the flaws in it. Minecraft is a very flawed game. One of the main problems I have with it is the robotic animations and the lack of a complex combat system but I digress.

Lots of the people hating this game are just hating the idea of making a story out of a game without a story and I'd hate that too if it weren't for the very clever small bits of lore throughout Minecraft. Be it Disc 11 or the mysterious Enderman there's a lot of mystery in Minecraft that can easily be crafted into a fantastic game.

A big criticism I've also been seeing is people worrying about Telltale's intentions. "Telltale only care about money now!", "Telltale are trying to get a quick buck out of 10 year old kids!". What company DOESN'T only care about money? What company doesn't try to get a quick buck out of 10 year old kids? If they make a good game, why should it matter to you? On the subject of money there appears to be people acting like Telltale only just started to care about money. They're a big company, man. They came into the game looking for money, how they get it shouldn't matter to you unless they're hurting other people, which they're not.

In conclusion, I see these complaints as coming from people who either don't know a lot about the video game industry or doubt Telltale's abilities to write a good story when they should know by now they're more than capable. Keep in mind, although this post might come off as rude or aggressive at times I don't intend that. I intend to be able to discuss with you guys's points of view.

Comments